Australia imposes financial sanctions on Russia

The Australian government has announced a new package of sanctions against Russia following its decision to recognize the independence of the so-called “L/DPR” in eastern Ukraine.

Prime Minister of Australia Scott Morrison stated this, Ukrinform reports with reference to ABC News.

According to Morrison, Australia would initially impose travel bans and targeted financial sanctions on eight members of the Security Council of the Russian Federation.

The sanctions will also include entities linked to Moscow, as well as Russian banks, transport, energy, telecommunications, oil, gas and minerals.

Morrison said the sanctions may be introduced against more Russian citizens and organizations seeking to benefit from Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

As Ukrinform reported, on February 21, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed decrees on recognizing the independence of the so-called “Luhansk People’s Republic” and “Donetsk People’s Republic”.

The Australian government condemned Russia’s recognition of two illegal entities in the occupied territories of Donetsk and Luhansk regions of Ukraine and stated it would announce sanctions together with its partners.

The leaders of the EU, the United States, Canada and most world democracies condemned the Kremlin’s actions.


Source: Australia imposes financial sanctions on Russia

You May Also Like